Conquering jet lag

I have the happiest of news!! I am cured of jet lag!!

Today was the 1st day that I slept through the night. This is surely my biggest accomplishment so far! The joy I’m feeling right now is a little ridiculous.

I remember learning in a biology class at college about circadian rhythms (for example, it takes 3 months for a newborn to get a regular sleep cycle) and we discussed jet lag. Apparently, it takes one day to adjust to a time change of 2 hours. We had a change of 9 hours on this trip so it should take us 5 days and…this is day 7 I believe.

The equation didn’t account for mosquitoes.

This trip I’ve discovered a few gems in terms of adjusting. So here we go:

TIPS TO CONQUER JET LAG

  1. Vitamin B12
    When you are absolutely exhausted at 2pm, take vitamin B12!! This worked wonders for me! It boosts your energy a bit without a crash. Some medications, like Prilosec, interfere with how your body absorbs B12 so taking a suppliment can boost your energy! Learn more here.
  2. Exercise
    Again, don’t be tempted by an afternoon nap! When you get tired, go get some exercise. Earlier this week I went on a run with one of the friendly locals and when I came back, I was ready for anything, even a night on the town!
  3. Mosquito net
    I didn’t do this but the mosquitoes buzzing in my ear and keeping me up all itchy—there’s no way to get a good night’s sleep. I had to flick my hair and slap my arm and stay half awake all night to try to keep the mosquito’s away. This small anxiety kept me up even though I tried to not let it bother me. A mosquito net would have given me the piece of mind to sleep peacefully. Last night we used a mosquito repellant and that may be the reason why we finally could sleep!
  4. Melatonin
    I didn’t try this either but, I imagine this supplement would also help if your trouble is getting to sleep/staying asleep. Considering how well Vitamin B12 worked this time, I’d be up to try it in the future.

 In Italian (or maybe Sicilian) “jet lag” is literally translated in to “confused schedule” (“fuso orario”). Or that’s what it sounds like to me and I’m going with it until someone corrects me. It seems an apt name.

That’s all I’ve got for you today! Enjoy being well adjusted to your time zone! Ciao!

One thought on “Conquering jet lag

  1. Pingback: Jet lag | bluedeckshoe.com

What do you think?

