I hope you dance!

I thought I heard the song title “I Hope You Dance” today (turns out I actually misheard) and it got me thinking. If I had to pick one song to represent this blog, I think this would probably have to be it.

In case you aren’t familiar with the lyrics, here are just a few:

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder,
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger…
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens.

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance,

Never settle for the path of least resistance,
Livin’ might mean takin’ chances but they’re worth takin’,
Lovin’ might be a mistake but it’s worth makin’,
Don’t let some hell bent heart leave you bitter,
When you come close to sellin’ out reconsider,
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.
I hope you dance.        -Sung by Lee Ann Womack

On the surface, it expresses my hope that you will see the world and that you will face whatever obstacles come your way, because I truly believe it’s a risk worth taking. But those mountains aren’t meant to be taken in a literal sense: there are figurative mountains in everyone’s lives. We keep them at a distance, but they are there. By taking the easy path and avoiding those mountains–whether that means avoiding experiences, relationships, or the chance to see the world–you sit out on dancing! Living your life to the fullest! We all have the choice: sit it out or dance.

So — in the words of the Fresh Prince of Bel Air — let’s get jiggy, am I right?

What do you think?

