Funkie town

I’ve found myself in a bit of a funk.

I’m trying to convince myself of what I’ve shared with you in the past…this quote from the Slight Edge:

Everyone gets the funk. But…I finally came to a realization one day that there is no way I can understand love, if I haven’t felt hurt. I can’t know good without knowing what’s bad. I can’t feel happy and content without feeling the funk. Life is ebb and flow. – pg83

While I work on that, I wanted to share this blog with you. I stumbled upon it the other day and I think it’s a pretty good depiction of what it feels like to live with a disability. I’m posting a highlights version for you, below, for anyone who (a) doesn’t understand this struggle and wants to understand, or (b) is looking for a new perspective on their own disability. But I encourage you to checkout the original, full length post (here’s the link for you again).

Acquiring a disability is a bit like getting home to find there’s a gorilla in your house…“what you’ve got ‘ere, mate, is a gorilla, and there ain’t really a lot what we can do about them, see…”

The gorilla in your house will cause problems in every part of your life….
There are three major approaches to the gorilla in your house.

One is to ignore it and hope it goes away. This is unlikely to work. A 300-lb gorilla will sleep where he likes, and if that’s on top of you, it will have an effect on you.

Another is to try and force the gorilla out, wrestling constantly with it, spending all your time fighting it. This is often a losing battle…

The third way to deal with the gorilla in your house is to accept it, tame it, and make it part of your life. Figure out a way to calm your gorilla down. Teach it how to sit still until you are able to take it places with you without it making a scene. Find out how to equip your home with gorilla-friendly furnishings and appliances. Negotiate with your boss about ways to accommodate or even make use of, your gorilla. Meet other people who live with gorillas and enjoy having something in common, and share gorilla-taming tips.

Fighting gorillas

Don’t mess with my Gorilla!

People get really upset about this and throw around accusations of “giving up” and “not even trying”. They even suggest that you enjoy having a gorilla around because of the attention it gets you (while ignoring the massive pile of steaming gorilla-turds in your bedroom every morning and night, not to mention your weekly bill for bananas). The best way to deal with these people is to smile and remind yourself that one day, they too will have a gorilla in their house.

Thank you M.E. and My Battles for the post. You’ve got it right. I guess my Gorilla has been sleeping on top of me–its really hard to get out of bed with 400 lb Gorilla on your chest.

What do you think?

