Don’t Worry, Just Travel

We had a great response to last week’s Starstruck theme! Thank you for all you’re enthusiasm and I’m so excited I get to share more stories like those each Saturday!

Today’s Motivational Monday is actually inspired by on of our World Travailler Followers (WTF for short 😉 ) who commented on this blog last week.

Author of the Don’t Worry, Just Travel blog has a wonderful motto regarding procrastinating about traveling that I think is worth sharing with all of you. You might have guessed it… the motto is: Don’t Worry, Just Travel.

Many people worry too much before they go out to travel or they don’t go at all or just in group tours to stay secure. I advise you: Don’t worry, Just travel.  -Charles Rahm (author of DWJT blog)

Reminiscent of Nike’s “Just do it” trademark, Rahm makes such a valid point. You hear the same advice over and over again:

  • Don’t leave for tomorrow what can be done today
  • It’s never too late to start. It’s always too late to wait
  • No one ever regretted going to the gym
  • You will regret the things you didn’t do, not the things you did. 
  • Seize the day!
  • Every quote on this page

And what it all boils down to is Just Do It! I’ll admit, sometimes those words are enough to push me to action. But having a disability is SUCH a good excuse to not do something!! Who’s going to argue with you?

I point out this blog out because it’s mission is to invalidate excuses. It makes planning easier and it helps others live up to the motto.

For me, it’s too hard to get into the Just Do It mindset. The weight of my disability and my fears drag me down and I can’t help but get into the occasional funk. I thought I was alone in this, that my funk was a result of personal weakness. I had a revelation…that’s not true! The Slight Edge taught me everyone experiences the funk!! Even the successful and the healthy get the funk. Fortunately, this affliction has a silver lining:

Everyone gets the funk. But…I finally came to a realization one day that there is no way I can understand love, if I haven’t felt hurt. I can’t know good without knowing what’s bad. I can’t feel happy and content without feeling the funk. Life is ebb and flow. – Slight Edge, pg. 83

When you really take this to heart, your whole outlook can change. I’m not saying it’s a cure, but keeping in mind that enduring your funk will help you realize happiness is empowering! You may feel terrible, but with this knowledge, ‘just doing it’ becomes possible.

Remember that what you have done, is only a small fraction of what you can do. Just because you haven’t done something before, doesn’t mean it’s beyond your limitations. Rather, its an opportunity to experience the thrill of doing something new!

So next time you think you are too tired, too busy, too limited, too afraid… just remember:

There are only two possibilities. Either you let go of where you are and get to where you could be, or you hang onto where you are and give up where you could be. You are either going for your dreams or giving up on your dreams. Stretching for what you could be, or settling for what you are.   -Slight Edge pg. 122

And on that note I’d like to say: Thanks, mom, for helping me stretch to be more and for helping me go for my dreams! Happy Birthday.

What do you think?

