Team Challenge!

I had a couple tough moments this week–Crohn’s wise. I didn’t think I needed reminding, but it has reminded me how important it is to me to make this blog the resource all of my followers deserve.

Last year I participated in Team Challenge, where my team and I ran a half marathon and raised money to benefit the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America. It was so empowering to do something I never thought I could do, especially with Crohn’s. And I did it with an amazing team that were all struggling with me: whether they were affected themselves or someone dear to them carried the burden. What is remarkable to me is that we were all victims to a disease with no cure, but we came out champions.

This brings me to my first Slight Edge quote of the day:

[Successful people] live a life of responsibility. They take full responsibility for who they are, where they are, and everything that happens to them. Taking responsibility liberates you; in fact, it is perhaps the single most liberating thing there is. Even when it hurts, even when it doesn’t seem fair. When you don’t take responsibility, when you blame others, circumstances, fat or chance, you give away your power. When you take and retain full responsibility—even when others are wrong or the situation is genuinely unfair—you keep life’s reins in your own hands.      –pg. 100

finish line original

Crossing the finish line of my Team Challenge half marathon. If you look real hard, quint your eyes, and tilt your head to the left,  you can see the new-found power!

Team Challenge was a means for me to take back the power! The remarkable thing is how this sort of program is making a different for so many different types of challenges. Team in Training  benefits the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, and actually started the trend of endurance training for a cause in 1988. Over the past 25 years, more teams have formed for different charities:

I really believe this is a great way to take back power in the relationship you have with your disability, and to “keep life’s reins in your own hands.”

The reason these programs are so effective is because of the team. This year I am participating again, as a mentor, so I can continue to be part of the team. You can have all the information in the world, but at the end of the day, what makes a difference is the community.

This brings me to the second Slight Edge quote of the day:

It’s been proven that information and technology alone are not going to create real change. Today, we see information on health soaring and yet we have seen an increase in obesity, adult onset diabetes, and other preventable diseases. We see information on finances everywhere, yet a rise in debt and mismanaged money. Information needs to be coupled with a community to have any real life-changing effects. – pg. 150

Let’s make World Travaillers to be the best possible resource; let’s couple the information with our community. No matter where you are or what your struggle, you are now part of the World Travaillers Community! The best way we can help ourselves and each-other is through the community we build.

Welcome to the World Travaillers Team. As a member, I encourage you to send questions, stories or opinions. Feel free to comment below, ask a question on our Facebook pageTweet us your experience, or email suggestions to me directly! You never know how your feedback might help a travailling teammate.

One thought on “Team Challenge!

  1. Pingback: Speed racer | World Travaillers

What do you think?

