Crohnie Intervention – Part Two

Good morning. Welcome to Crohnie Intervention Day Two!! Class is now in session.

A quick recap: Last week I was blown away with all the bloggers with disabilities that were having a tough day. For some reason, that day was a huge struggle for many people, whether they are fighting bullies, depression or learning to accept their limitations. It called for an intervention. And thus was born the Crohnie Intervention!

I’m a crohnie (I’m struggling with Crohn’s Disease) and there are so many more people struggling with their own conditions and it can be hard to stay positive. So, all my fellow travaillers are formally initiated as honorary crohnies for this intervention. Because there are constant challenges to weigh you down, this will be an ongoing series to help you knock down those challenges one by one. What better way to start your Monday morning, than with some good clean interventioning?

Last time we covered Humor. The most painful things in life can be the most funny; and humor has mystical properties that give you strength, courage and hope!

Today we are talking about owning your luck:

The truth comes down to this: Just when you think life’s dealt you a blow with the bad side of a coin, remember that there’s always another side. Flip it over, and make that which seems against you, actually work for you.  – Mark Smith

We, as a species, dwell on the negative. It’s a survival mechanism: I ate that worm and my arm fell off. I won’t forget and won’t ever to eat a worm again! But we aim to more than just survive so we need to learn a new skill: coin flipping…

So much of life is left up to chance: heads or tails / lucky penny or unlucky penny. The author of the blog, Mark Smith, was born with cerebral palsy. He flipped his coin by using his unique experiences to become a successful inspirational speaker and a proud dad. Yes, he has cerebral palsy, but that is what has fueled his success. It’s two sides of the same coin.

I often feel like I got gypped with my penny. Growing up, I thought everyone else had beautiful, shiny, lucky pennies while mine got lodged up my nose or something.     —Before my metaphor goes too awry, lets just leave it that I didn’t like the penny I was given–   All my family and friends were normal and I was sick and didn’t know why (I wasn’t diagnosed until adulthood). In fact, I thought it was my fault for a long time that I wasn’t strong enough. I wasn’t as strong as my brother and sister and that’s why I hurt. It turns out it was my penny and not me that was the problem, and once I figured that out, all I had to do was flip it over. (So much easier to do literally than figuratively!!) The tough part is realizing I can do it.

Humor helped me do it and so did the many inspiring crohnies I met.  And now I have a lucky penny! I get to polish it a little every day through this blog because I get to help others ‘flip their coins’ too, so to speak, and take control of the coin-toss we call Life.

Obviously, I hope to help you take control through travel. I’ve never learned so much about the world and myself as I have through travelling. It changes everything you think you know about what is possible, and thats what I want for all my crohnies.

There is no doubt that I would have been a different person without Crohn’s. But I’m a better person with it. I  have learned humility, patience and compassion. So my perspective has changed. I have a pretty snazzy penny!

Your assignment: Read Mark’s blog: powerchairdiaries.com. As you can imagine, it is an absolutely fantastic inspirational blog and I HIGHLY recommend it! Anyone–with or without a disability–could easily spend hours just reading these posts. I just did. Whenever you feel down, read it! I have a sneaking suspicion that Mr. Smith might make a reappearance 😉

Happy Flipping!
 

One thought on “Crohnie Intervention – Part Two

  1. Pingback: Abilities Expo-tivation | World Travaillers

What do you think?

